The 1inch Card was a genuine, live Mastercard crypto card (provided by Crypto Life/Baanx, issued by UAB Monavate) with up to 2% crypto cashback and Apple Pay/Google Pay, but it is discontinued: new sign-ups closed around 20 October 2026 with no reason given, and 1inch tells holders to withdraw balances by 18 December 2026 while admitting it cannot guarantee cards work that long. What marketing called self-custody spending was a custodial e-money account, and the real crypto-to-fiat conversion margin was never published. Do not sign up; if you still hold a balance, move it out now.
Programme discontinued: 'The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued... new sign-ups are closed and the programme is winding down' (1inch help center FAQ, accessed 2026-11-04).
No reason disclosed: '1inch has not disclosed the reason behind the discontinuation or announced a replacement card service' (Crypto Briefing, 2026-10-20).
1inch disclaims control of the shutdown: the 18 Dec 2026 deadline is only 'as far ahead as we can currently foresee' and 'Exact card functionality timelines are set by the issuer and provider, not 1inch'.
+5 more red flags - expand before loading funds
Self-custody framing vs custodial reality: card balances were e-money held by Baanx.com Ltd (UK) / Frozen Time UNIPESSOAL LDA (EU), with CL handling KYC and closures.
Counterparty churn: Companies House shows Baanx.com Ltd renamed MONAVATE ONCHAIN LTD (19 Aug 2026) and Baanx Group Ltd renamed BGROUP TECHNOLOGY LTD (26 Oct 2026), while 1inch's FAQ still directs users to 'Baanx.com Ltd' and 'Baanx Group Ltd'.
1inch cannot fix account problems: 'We can't action account-level requests ourselves, but we will push to get your request handled.'
Crypto-to-fiat conversion margin (the real ongoing cost) was never published in accessible sources; CL's Platform Fees page is not readable without JavaScript.
Post-closure dormancy fee: issuer terms state that after 12 months Monavate 'will start deducting a fee' from unclaimed balances.
Review
by the cryptodebitcards editorial desk · curated review · prose updated 2026-11-04 · facts as of 2026-11-04 · how we verify
Overview
The 1inch Card was the DeFi aggregator's entry into crypto spending: announced in April 2024 as "a new Web3 debit card, issued by Crypto Life and powered exclusively by the Mastercard network" [3], with physical and virtual form factors. The product page described it as "a prepaid Mastercard powered by Crypto Life (CL), developed in partnership with Baanx and issued by Monavate" [2]. Monavate is UAB Monavate, "authorised and regulated by the Bank of Lithuania under Authorisation Code: LB002139" [6].
That structure matters, because the card is now dead to new users. 1inch's help center states: "The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued. Existing cards and accounts remain accessible for now, but new sign-ups are closed and the programme is winding down" [1]. Coverage from 20 October 2026 (The Defiant, Crypto Briefing, Cryptopolitan) confirms the shutdown [8][9][10].
Fees & Costs
Issuer-level pricing was lean: the Monavate Fee Information Document for the CL Card shows a EUR 0 monthly maintenance fee, EUR 0 card issuance and a 0% issuer fee on card payments in foreign currency [7]. ATM withdrawals were the exception: EUR 2.50 at UK machines, and "EUR 3.00 plus 1.5% of the transaction value" abroad [7].
The real ongoing cost was never published. Crypto-to-fiat conversion happened through Crypto Life, and the issuer terms reserve an FX margin "available on the fees pages of our website www.withcl.com/legal" [6]. CL's separate Platform Fees page is JavaScript-rendered and unreadable, so the conversion spread is unknown [6]. CL marketing claimed "no hidden subscriptions or fees" [5], but the effective all-in cost cannot be verified.
KYC & Onboarding
KYC was handled by the card provider, not 1inch: "CL handles account closure, card status, identity verification (KYC) and personal data requests" [1]. As a UK/EEA e-money product, full ID verification applied, and the wind-down doc names CL as legal counterparty (Baanx Group Ltd for UK users, Frozen Time UNIPESSOAL LDA for EU users) [1][9]. New onboarding is closed [1].
Coins & Top-up
The card supported a modest token set, per the archived product page: 1INCH, USDT, BTC, LTC, XRP and BXX [2]. Top-ups ran through the card interface at card.1inch.com, served from Baanx infrastructure, with instant conversion to fiat at the point of purchase [5][13]. Beyond spending, 1inch offered Cryptodraft (deposit BTC or ETH as collateral, borrow up to 60% LTV, first 10% interest-free, then about 1% monthly) and StableLoans (fixed 6 to 24 month terms in USDC, USDT or EURT) [4].
Rewards
The headline perk was cashback: "Earn up to 2% crypto cashback on every purchase. Choose to receive rewards in 1INCH, USDT, BTC or BXX tokens" [4]. Note the "up to": no flat rate, cap or tier table was ever published, and cashback in BXX tied rewards to Baanx's own token. With the programme winding down, rewards are moot for everyone [1].
Reliability & Red Flags
The shutdown itself is the main red flag: "1inch has not disclosed the reason behind the discontinuation or announced a replacement card service" [8]. 1inch also disclaims control of the timeline, saying 18 December 2026 is only "as far ahead as we can currently foresee", and that it "can't action account-level requests" itself [1]. At review time, the card frontend displayed "The 1inch Card service is temporarily unreachable" [13].
Registry filings add churn: Baanx.com Ltd was renamed MONAVATE ONCHAIN LTD on 19 August 2026 [11], and Baanx Group Ltd became BGROUP TECHNOLOGY LTD on 26 October 2026 [12], even as the FAQ still directs users to "Baanx". Independent user feedback is thin; no first-hand card threads surfaced on Reddit [14]. Separately, 1inch's protocol suffered a market-maker exploit in May 2026, unrelated to the card [14].
Verdict
The 1inch Card was a real Mastercard product with low issuer fees and Apple Pay/Google Pay, but it is discontinued with no explanation and no successor [1][8]. "Self-custody" marketing masked a custodial e-money account held at renamed Baanx entities, and the conversion margin was never disclosed [5][9]. Do not sign up; if you hold a balance, withdraw it now, and pick a live product from our crypto debit card comparison instead.
What works
Real Mastercard product that shipped: virtual and physical cards, usable online, in store and at ATMs
Apple Pay and Google Pay support confirmed by product page and a dedicated CL Google Pay terms PDF
Issuer-level fees were low: EUR 0 monthly maintenance, EUR 0 card issuance, 0% issuer FX on card payments (Monavate FID)
Cashback up to 2% paid in a choice of 1INCH, USDT, BTC or BXX (while the programme ran)
Issued by UAB Monavate, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (code LB002139); leftover e-wallet funds redeemable for six years under issuer terms
Integrated with the 1inch Wallet ecosystem, plus borrowing features (Cryptodraft, StableLoans)
What to watch
Discontinued: new sign-ups closed, programme winding down, balances must be withdrawn by 18 December 2026
No reason given for the shutdown and no replacement announced
Card balance was custodial e-money (Baanx.com Ltd / Frozen Time / Monavate), not self-custody despite marketing
Crypto-to-fiat conversion margin never published; the issuer reserves an FX margin 'available on the fees pages'
ATM withdrawals costly abroad: EUR 3.00 + 1.5% per foreign-currency withdrawal (EUR 2.50 in the UK)
UK/EEA only as far as documentation shows; no US availability documented
The card frontend displayed 'temporarily unreachable' at review time; 1inch support cannot action account-level requests
Baanx UK entities were renamed (Monavate Onchain Ltd, BGROUP Technology Ltd) in Aug/Oct 2026 around the wind-down
Fee reality check
Monthly
none
ATM fee
1.5% + $3 per withdrawal
Fine print
Issuer-level Monavate Fee Information Document for the CL Card (03/11/2023): 'Monthly maintenance fee EUR 0.00', card issuing EUR 0.00, debit card payment in a foreign currency 'EUR 0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value', UK cash withdrawal EUR 2.50, 'Cash withdrawal in foreign currency outside the UK ... EUR 3.00 plus 1.5% of the transaction value', replacement card EUR 5.00. Monavate terms also state 'We will also apply our margin which is available on the fees pages of our website www.withcl.com/legal', and CL's separate 'Platform Fees' page (crypto-to-fiat conversion margin) is JavaScript-rendered and could not be read, so the effective conversion/FX spread is unknown. CL card page claims 'No hidden subscriptions or fees'. Cryptodraft borrowing: 0% per annum up to 10% of the BTC deposit, 12% per annum above that (blog: '1% monthly percentage rate (MPR)'). Post-closure dormancy: issuer terms say after 12 months 'we will start deducting a fee'.
The meta-review: what the internet says about 1inch Card
We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates 1inch Card - including the issuing structure behind the card. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.
What other reviewers say
Heads-up: most crypto card "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.
No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are affiliate placements.
What users say (1)
Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but patterns across threads are the best early-warning system this industry has.
No first-hand 1inch Card user threads surfaced; only aggregator topics and protocol-related posts such as 'The attacker behind the May $5.8M TrustedVolumes exploit has returned 1,122 ETH (~$2M)'. Trustpilot returned HTTP 403 and could not be checked.
Who is behind 1inch Card?
Card programs stand and fall with their operator and BIN sponsor. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: confirmed (checked 2026-11-04).
Operator
1inch Card (1inch Network programme run by Crypto Life/Baanx)
Legal entity / issuer
Programme by 1inch; card provider Crypto Life (CL), legally Frozen Time UNIPESSOAL LDA (EU) and Baanx Group Ltd (UK); funds held by Baanx.com Ltd (UK) and Frozen Time UNIPESSOAL LDA (EU); card issued by UAB Monavate (Lithuania, Bank of Lithuania authorisation LB002139); card frontend served from frontend.1inch.baanx.co.uk; original partnership with Mastercard (Apr 2024)
Registered in
Programme operator 1inch (originally founded by a team including Sergej Kunz); card provider entities in the UK and Portugal; issuer in Lithuania
Companies House: company 11155611, incorporated 17 Jan 2018, was 'BAANX.COM LTD' from 17 Jan 2018 to 19 Aug 2026 and is now 'MONAVATE ONCHAIN LTD' (Active); company 11155938 was 'BAANX GROUP LTD' from 26 Jun 2018 to 26 Oct 2026 and is now 'BGROUP TECHNOLOGY LTD' (Active). The wind-down FAQ still refers users to 'Baanx.com Ltd' and 'Baanx Group Ltd'. Trustpilot and The Defiant article body were not accessible from this environment (HTTP 403); Reddit search returned no first-hand card threads.
Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact. Quoted text is the verbatim excerpt this review cites.
“The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued. Existing cards and accounts remain accessible for now, but new sign-ups are closed and the programme is winding down.”
Gate Card exists, is actively developed and advertises the most aggressive cashback headline on this list (up to 8%), but the program is a black box: issuer unnamed, no published fees, no documented limits, regions defined only as 'non-restricted countries'. Fine as an exchange perk for heavy Gate users - hard to verify for anyone comparing card terms.
Full KYC8% backphysical card
1% FX · 8% back in points (redeemable for USDT or GT)
The most mature crypto prepaid card in the US - FDIC-member bank issued, $25k/month top-ups and clean tier structure - but the free tier earns nothing, real cashback requires a subscription or five-to-six-figure CRO stakes, and rewards are paid in volatile CRO.
Full KYC1.5% backphysical card
0% load · 3% FX · 1.5% back in CRO
$25,000 aggregated top-up limit per month (all tiers)Exchange 35 d ago
No comments yet - be the first. No account needed; the anti-spam proof runs in your browser.