The safest pair of hands in the comparison: NASDAQ-listed issuer context, FDIC-member bank card, zero fees on USD/USDC spending and no staking requirement. The trade-offs: US-only (no Hawaii), rewards rates are variable in-app only, and non-USDC crypto spends trigger auto-sell with spread and taxes.
The Coinbase Card is a prepaid Visa debit card offered by Coinbase, a US-based exchange. It is available in both physical and virtual form factors, and it is designed for US residents, excluding those in Hawaii. The card allows users to spend cash or crypto anywhere Visa debit is accepted.
Fees & Costs
The Coinbase Card has no annual fee, no Coinbase transaction fees on spending, and no fees for funding via linked bank account or paycheck direct deposit. There are no fees for spending USD or USDC, but crypto spends auto-convert to USD with a spread applied. ATM operator fees may apply, but Coinbase does not charge an ATM fee. The foreign transaction fee is not publicly disclosed.
KYC & Onboarding
The Coinbase Card requires full KYC, triggered by the USA PATRIOT Act identity verification at card account opening, which includes name, address, DOB, and ID documents. No credit check or staking requirement is needed to be eligible. The standard Coinbase account KYC process applies.
Coins & Top-up
The Coinbase Card natively supports USDC, and it also supports in-app conversion of other cryptocurrencies, including BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, DOGE, and all Coinbase-listed assets. The minimum top-up amount is not specified. Users can fund their card via linked bank account or paycheck direct deposit with zero fees.
Rewards
The Coinbase Card offers a rewards program with rotating selectable crypto rewards and variable rates. The reward rate is not publicly disclosed and can be found in the app. The rewards are paid in the selectable crypto, and the program is only available in the US.
Reliability & Red Flags
Coinbase, the issuer, is a NASDAQ-listed exchange with a strong reputation. However, some red flags include variable and non-public reward rates, restricted merchant categories, and reports of customer support issues. External sources, such as Reddit, document issues with card replacement, account freezes, and autopay connectivity.
Verdict
The Coinbase Card is a reliable option for US residents, offering zero fees on USD/USDC spending and no staking requirement. However, the variable reward rates, restricted merchant categories, and customer support issues are notable trade-offs. Users should carefully review the terms and conditions before applying.
Spending non-USDC crypto = automatic taxable sale with spread
Merchant-category blocks incl. crypto businesses and gambling
Fee reality check
Issuance
Virtual card creatable in-app; physical card orderable; no annual fee
Monthly
none
Top-up fee
0%
ATM fee
0%
Fine print
Coinbase Card: no annual fee, no Coinbase transaction fees on spending - USD, USDC or crypto ('There are no fees for spending US dollars (USD) or crypto, including USD Coin (USDC)'); crypto spends auto-convert to USD with a spread (taxable sale). Funding via linked bank account or paycheck direct deposit 'with zero fees'. ATM: no Coinbase fee; ATM operator fees may apply. A foreign transaction fee is NOT published on the public card/pricing pages - full schedule only in the in-app Cardholder Agreement.
Based on our checks as of 2026-09-21: Coinbase Card scores 6.4/10 in our weighted review. We logged 2 red flags (listed above). User reports and the operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.
Is KYC required?
Yes, full KYC is required, including name, address, DOB, and ID documents.
What fees does it charge?
No annual fee, no Coinbase transaction fees on spending, and no fees for funding via linked bank account or paycheck direct deposit.
Which coins can you load?
USDC is natively supported, and other cryptocurrencies are supported via in-app conversion.
Does it pay cashback?
The card offers a rewards program with rotating selectable crypto rewards and variable rates.
Which regions does it serve?
The card is available in the US, excluding Hawaii.
Is it safe/legit?
Coinbase is a NASDAQ-listed exchange with a strong reputation, but some red flags and customer support issues have been reported.
Is the card physical or virtual?
The card is available in both physical and virtual form factors.
The meta-review: what the internet says about Coinbase Card
We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates Coinbase Card - including the issuing structure behind the card. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.
What other reviewers say
Heads-up: most crypto card "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.
No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are affiliate placements.
What users say (5)
Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but patterns across threads are the best early-warning system this industry has.
User cannot replace a physical Coinbase card: the in-app flow failed ~10 times, phone support bounces between card support and Coinbase support in a loop ('they take a simple task and complicate it until it turns into a multi day event').
ACH deposit blocked, bank blocked the debit-card link, account frozen; automated ID verification failed ~20x on mobile and desktop; a specialist-requested selfie+ID upload went unanswered for a week. Funds stuck on the platform (account-level freeze, card-adjacent).
Sibling-product warning (Coinbase One credit card, Amex network): account suspended immediately after paying the 50% initiation fee; Amex and Coinbase support refer to each other in a loop. Relevant because users conflate it with the Coinbase Card debit product.
User reports using the Coinbase card for discretionary purchases, citing USDC rewards on the account balance ('I think 3.5% APY') and cashback on purchases; plans to use it more once crypto is their main income.
Cannot connect a bank account for card autopay: Plaid reports no available accounts; manual routing/account entry bounces back to Plaid ('Your bank works with Plaid'). Recurring Plaid-integration friction.
Who is behind Coinbase Card?
Card programs stand and fall with their operator and BIN sponsor. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: high (checked 2026-09-18).
Operator
Coinbase
Legal entity / issuer
Coinbase, Inc. (NASDAQ-listed Coinbase Global group); card issued by Pathward, N.A. (Member FDIC) pursuant to a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc., powered by Marqeta
Registered in
United States
Largest US-listed crypto exchange (founded 2012). Separate Coinbase Credit Card product exists (up to 4% bitcoin back). Full fees in Cardholder Agreement + Pricing/Fees disclosures.
Generated by Llama on 2026-09-21 from our fact database plus the 8 linked sources above. It summarizes - it does not add facts. Check anything that matters against the linked sources.
Bottom line: The Coinbase Card is an active program with no annual fee, offering a prepaid Visa debit card for US customers, excluding Hawaii. It has a custodial custody model and allows spending of USD, USDC, or crypto with no fees on USD/USDC spending. However, non-USDC crypto spends trigger auto-sell with spread and taxes.
The fee reality: There are no annual fees, no Coinbase transaction fees on spending, and no fees for funding via linked bank account or paycheck direct deposit. However, a foreign transaction fee is not published, and ATM operator fees may apply.
KYC and coins: The card requires full identity verification per federal law, with no credit check and no staking requirement. It supports USDC natively and allows conversion of other cryptos like BTC, ETH, and SOL.
What reviewers say vs what users say: Reviewers from the operator's site describe the card positively, highlighting zero spending fees and no annual fees. However, user complaints on Reddit mention issues with card replacement, account freezes, and difficulties with autopay, showing a conflict between official information and user experiences.
Who issues it: The Coinbase Card is issued by Pathward N.A., a Member FDIC bank, pursuant to a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc., and powered by Marqeta, with Coinbase, Inc. as the operator.
Sources & how this review was built
Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.
The most aggressive rewards among exchange cards: 2-10% USDT cashback tiers, auto-interest on the card balance and 100% rebates on popular subscriptions - but it requires full exchange KYC and is explicitly unavailable in the EEA, and the platform carries the memory of the 2025 mega-hack it survived.
The most generous crypto-rewards credit card in the US market - up to 6% back in BTC or CRO with no annual fee - but the best rates require CRO staking or a Level Up subscription, BTC earn is capped by tier, and it is credit (with bureau approval), not a debit card you can top up with crypto.
The most mature crypto prepaid card in the US - FDIC-member bank issued, $25k/month top-ups and clean tier structure - but the free tier earns nothing, real cashback requires a subscription or five-to-six-figure CRO stakes, and rewards are paid in volatile CRO.
Full KYC1.5% backphysical card
0% load · 3% FX · 1.5% back in CRO
$25,000 aggregated top-up limit per month (all tiers)Exchange 3 d ago
No comments yet - be the first. No account needed; the anti-spam proof runs in your browser.