The most mainstream self-custody card: MetaMask wallet spending stablecoins on Linea through a Monavate-issued Mastercard, keys stay yours. Application throughput and the stablecoin-only rail are the practical limits.
by the cryptodebitcards editorial desk · review version 4 · prose updated 2026-09-21 · facts as of 2026-09-21 · how we verify
Overview
MetaMask Card homepage - live capture 2026-09-19
The MetaMask Card is a virtual debit card offered by MetaMask, a crypto-native provider, on the Mastercard network. It is designed for users who want to spend their cryptocurrencies directly from their MetaMask wallet. The card is available in several regions, including the EEA, UK, US, LATAM, and MENA.
Fees & Costs
The MetaMask Card has no issuance fee for the virtual card, but the Metal card requires a $199/year subscription. There are no monthly fees, top-up fees, or inactivity fees. The card charges a 1% foreign exchange fee, a 2% ATM fee, and ATM operator fees are possible. Stablecoin transactions in the cardholder's currency incur no fee, while non-matching stablecoins incur a 0.5% fee.
KYC & Onboarding
The MetaMask Card requires full KYC, which is triggered during the application process. Users must verify their identity, but the specific documents required are not specified. The application process can take several weeks, and some users have reported delays.
Coins & Top-up
The MetaMask Card supports direct loading of several cryptocurrencies, including mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe, and GBPe, on various networks such as Linea, Solana, Base, and Monad. There are no top-up fees, and the minimum top-up amount is not specified. The card spends directly from the user's MetaMask wallet, and network gas fees on Linea are approximately $0.01.
Rewards
The MetaMask Card offers a cashback reward of 1% in mUSD for virtual card transactions and 3% in mUSD for Metal card transactions, with a cap on the Metal card reward. The cashback is auto-deposited into the user's Money Account.
Reliability & Red Flags
MetaMask is a well-established provider with a reputation for self-custodial wallets. However, some users have reported issues with application processing and card management. There are no red flags, but the data quality is reported, not verified. External sources, such as Reddit threads, document some users' experiences with delayed application processing and card issues.
Verdict
The MetaMask Card is a suitable option for users who want to spend their cryptocurrencies directly from their MetaMask wallet. However, users should be aware of the potential delays in application processing and the limited availability of the Metal card. The card's rewards program and lack of fees make it an attractive option, but users should carefully review the terms and conditions before applying.
What works
Self-custody: spends directly from your own MetaMask wallet
The largest self-custodial wallet brand behind it (Consensys)
USDC/USDT on Linea with near-zero network fees
Apple/Google Pay support
What to watch
Stablecoin-only (USDC/USDT on specific networks - wrong-network deposits strand funds)
Application processing can take weeks (community reports)
Full KYC; regional availability varies
No cashback
Fee reality check
Issuance
Virtual card free; Metal card via $199/year Metal subscription (Metal orders temporarily paused since 2026-06-02, official)
Monthly
none
Top-up fee
0%
FX fee
1%
ATM fee
2%
Fine print
Official limits-and-fees page: stablecoin denominated in cardholder/merchant currency = no fee; non-matching stablecoin 0.5%; DeFi/yield tokens (aUSDC) free up to $1,200/mo then 0.5%; other crypto (wETH) 0.875%; cross-border 1% (Free) / 0% (Metal); network gas ~$0.01 on Linea; delegate funds for spending: no fee. New Card sign-ups temporarily paused in the US and UK (official support page, checked 2026-09-19); Metal orders paused since 2026-06-02.
Based on our checks as of 2026-09-21: MetaMask Card scores 5.6/10 in our weighted review. We logged no red flags. User reports and the operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.
Is KYC required?
Yes, full KYC is required during the application process.
What fees does the card charge?
The card charges a 1% foreign exchange fee, a 2% ATM fee, and ATM operator fees are possible.
Which coins can you load?
The card supports direct loading of several cryptocurrencies, including mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe, and GBPe.
Does the card pay cashback?
Yes, the card offers a cashback reward of 1% in mUSD for virtual card transactions and 3% in mUSD for Metal card transactions.
Which regions does the card serve?
The card is available in several regions, including the EEA, UK, US, LATAM, and MENA.
Is the card physical or virtual?
The MetaMask Card is available as both a virtual and physical (Metal) card.
The meta-review: what the internet says about MetaMask Card
We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates MetaMask Card - including the issuing structure behind the card. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.
What other reviewers say
Heads-up: most crypto card "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.
No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are affiliate placements.
What users say (5)
Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but patterns across threads are the best early-warning system this industry has.
User cannot manage the card in-app (no card number, no freeze) after months of non-use; 40 comments, includes official-support replies pointing to card.metamask.io. Companion support replies document UK availability being 'restored' and inactivity-closure emails referencing baanx.com.
User's card stopped over a 'Lifetime Transactions' limit; submitted verification form, support forwarded docs July 1, no resolution for over a month; card unusable meanwhile. 5 comments.
Generated by Llama on 2026-09-21 from our fact database plus the 12 linked sources above. It summarizes - it does not add facts. Check anything that matters against the linked sources.
Bottom line: The MetaMask Card is an active program that allows users to spend stablecoins directly from their MetaMask wallet through a smart account. The card is issued via Monavate/Baanx infrastructure and has a self-custodial spending model. Application processing has been reported to be slow at times.
The fee reality: The virtual card is free, while the Metal card requires a $199/year subscription. There are no top-up or loading fees, and the card spends directly from the user's wallet. Fees include 1% foreign transaction fees for the Free tier, 0.5% for non-matching stablecoins, and 2% for ATM withdrawals.
KYC and coins: The card requires full KYC, with identity verification during the application process. It supports various stablecoins, including USDC, USDT, and mUSD, and allows for self-custodial spending.
What reviewers say vs what users say: Reviewers and users have mixed sentiments about the card, with some reporting slow application processing and issues with card management. However, others have had positive experiences, with one user reporting flawless use in Canada and good exchange rates. Official support pages acknowledge temporary pauses in new sign-ups and Metal card orders.
Who issues it: The MetaMask Card is issued by Monavate/Baanx infrastructure, with MetaMask (Consensys) being the operator. The card is a Mastercard and is available in several regions, including the EEA, UK, US, LATAM, and MENA.
Sources & how this review was built
Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.
The reference architecture for self-custody spending: your own Safe smart account settles stablecoins to a Monavate-issued Visa - no custodial balance. The 2026 B2B pivot means consumers now reach it through partner apps, and rewards are minimal.
A self-custody stablecoin banking app whose Visa card (issued by Wirex) is live and documented: 1-8% cashback tiers, free virtual card, Apple Pay/Google Pay, EUR 30k/month limits, up to 5% APY. The rewards are real but tier-gated by $COCA staking and monthly claim caps; the '0% FX' marketing does not survive independent measurement (1.18% spread), and the no-CRS/DAC8 claim deserves skepticism.
Full KYC8% backphysical cardself-custody
0% load · 0% FX · 8% back
EUR 30,000 (plus EUR 75,000/quarter and EUR 100,000/6-month caps)Crypto-native 3 d ago
A veteran self-custody rail for EUR stablecoins - your keys, your EURS - with the usual trade-offs: full KYC, EEA focus, minimal rewards and stablecoin-only rails.
No comments yet - be the first. No account needed; the anti-spam proof runs in your browser.