5
our score no user ratings yet - be the first

Avalanche Card Review

A credible, well-backed self-custodial spend card with genuinely low fixed costs ($0 monthly/issuance/shipping, 0% APR) and true on-chain collateral custody in smart contracts. But it is not a privacy product (full KYC with SSN/national ID, GLBA data sharing), the rewards program is opaque (earn rates only in-app, statement-credit redemption at 70% of face), international FX is 'up to 3%' with a 1%-vs-2% disclosure conflict on the US side, and spending limits can be cut at Rain's sole discretion - with liquidation possible 'without prior notice'. Best for AVAX/stablecoin holders in the US (partial) and Latin America/Caribbean who want to spend against their stack; not for no-KYC users, and international terms (1-day payment window) behave much harsher than the US 21-day credit cycle.

Full KYC physical card self-custody

Review

by the cryptodebitcards editorial desk · curated review · prose updated 2026-10-03 · facts as of 2026-10-13 · how we verify

Overview

Screenshot: Avalanche Card homepage
Avalanche Card homepage - live capture 2026-10-03

The Avalanche Card is a collateral-backed credit card introduced by the Avalanche Foundation and offered by Rain Liquidity, a card-infrastructure company [1]. The issuing institution is Nimbus LLC doing business as Third National, the same Visa issuer-of-record that backs several other crypto card programs [5]. Despite the "credit card" classification, there is no interest and no credit check: spending power derives entirely from crypto collateral you post into smart contracts you control [2]. The card spends against stablecoins at 1:1 and against AVAX or WAVAX at up to 50% of market value, across five chains - Avalanche C-Chain, Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum [2]. Press coverage from the launch window confirms the structure: "developed in collaboration with Rain" and introduced by the Avalanche Foundation [6]. This is a genuinely self-custodial structure, but it is not a privacy product: full KYC with SSN or national ID applies, and GLBA disclosures document standard financial data sharing [5].

Fees & Costs

The fixed costs are honest zeroes: $0 monthly fee, $0 issuance for both card types, $0 shipping and 0% APR [1]. The FX picture is the card's documentation problem - the homepage FAQ says 1%, the US agreement disclosures say 2%, and the international agreement says "up to 3%" [1][2][3]. We record the conflict rather than pick a number. Late payment on the US card costs up to 2% of the outstanding balance; international terms charge up to $40 [2][3]. Liquidation carries its own fees, and the international agreement warns that Liquidation Events can occur without prior notice [3].

KYC & Onboarding

Onboarding collects your legal name, date of birth, SSN or national ID number, a government ID and a selfie; most applications are auto-approved with manual review up to 72 hours [1]. The US agreement additionally demands address, phone, employment and income information [2]. There is no credit check, and activity is not reported to credit bureaus [1]. Availability covers 31 countries - 30 across Latin America and the Caribbean plus the US - with 18 countries and 16 US states excluded [2].

Coins & Top-up

Collateral is deposited from a linked self-custody wallet, and the supported chains are listed in the US agreement: Avalanche C-Chain, Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum and future additions at Rain's discretion [2]. Because collateral stays in your custody, topping up is just a deposit and cashing out requires at least 3 business days of prior notice under the US agreement [2]. The AVAX/WAVAX 50% rule surprises users - half the market value of your AVAX is not spendable, and Reddit reports confirm people getting caught by it [2][7].

Rewards

The rewards program is the weakest documented part. Avax Points have a face value of $0.01 each, but statement-credit redemption values them at 70% of face - only travel-portal redemptions get the full cent [4]. Earn rates are not published on the web; the terms say points are earned "at rates published in the Avalanche Card app", which is not a rate sheet we can verify [4]. The operator of the rewards program is a Rain subsidiary, and the terms explicitly state the Avalanche Foundation is not a party to them - so the brand on the card is not the counterparty behind the points [4].

Reliability & Red Flags

Spending power is discretionary: the agreements reserve the right to set or cut limits "at our sole discretion", potentially "to $0", without advance notice [3]. Combined with liquidation without prior notice and a 1-day payment window on the international card, the terms are much harsher outside the US [3]. Support complaints on Reddit - an AI-agent queue, unanswered emails, refund delays - are recurring themes, though no theft reports exist [7]. On the positive side, collateral custody is real and the fee floor is genuinely low [2].

Verdict

This is a well-engineered self-custodial card with a clean fixed-cost structure - but read it as a borrowing product against your own collateral, not a rewards card [4]. The points program is opaque and redeemed at a discount, the FX numbers conflict across three official pages, and the discretionary limits mean your spending power is always conditional [3][4]. It fits AVAX holders in Latin America, the Caribbean or the supported US states who want to spend against their stack without selling; it does not fit anyone seeking no-KYC privacy or published, predictable rewards [1][4].

What works

  • $0 monthly fee, $0 virtual/physical issuance, $0 shipping, 0% APR - no interest charges
  • True self-custody: collateral stays in user-held smart contracts; Rain explicitly not a custodian
  • Spend from 5 chains (Avalanche C-Chain, Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum) in AVAX/WAVAX/USDC/USDT
  • Instant virtual card + Apple Wallet/Google Wallet support, up to 3 virtual + 1 physical cards
  • No credit check; card activity not reported to credit bureaus (secondary source)

What to watch

  • Full KYC including SSN/national ID, government ID and selfie; employment and income information collected
  • AVAX/WAVAX collateral only gives 50% spending power and can be liquidated without prior notice (daily cadence, within 6h of purchases on missed payment, or if collateral value drops)
  • FX fee marketing conflict: 1% (FAQ/US tier) vs 2% (US agreement disclosures) vs up to 3% (international agreement)
  • Avax Points earn rates not published on the web; statement-credit redemption only worth 70% of face value
  • Spending limits fully discretionary and can drop to $0 without advance notice; collateral withdrawal needs 3 business days notice
  • Support complaints: AI-agent queue, email no-response reports, refund delays, US-only phone support
  • 18 excluded countries + 16 excluded US states; physical card shipping 14-30+ business days
  • Mandatory arbitration with class-action waiver (US and international agreements)

Fee reality check

IssuanceFX fee conflict across surfaces: homepage FAQ markets 'FX Fees: 1%', but the U.S. Card Agreement account-opening disclosures list 'International Transaction: 2% of each transaction in U.S. dollars', and the International Card Agreement says 'Foreign Exchange Fee (non USD): up to 3%'. DefiLlama shows 1% for the US tier and 'Up to 3%' for the international tier. The contractual 'up to 3%' should be treated as the ceiling.
Monthlynone
FX fee1%
Fine printHomepage FAQ: FX 1%, monthly account fee $0, virtual card issuance $0, physical card $0, card shipping $0. No gas fees or conversion fees are charged by Avalanche Card itself (network gas still applies). U.S. account disclosures: annual fee none, APR 0.00% (no interest), late payment fee 'Up to 2% of the current outstanding card balance', international transaction fee 2% (see fee_issue). International agreement: late payment 'Up to $40', returned payment fee $5.00, foreign transaction fees 'up to 3%'. Cash advances and balance transfers are NOT available on the international card; US ATM withdrawals are treated as cash advances only 'if enabled by us' - no ATM fee published (not published). Liquidation Events can occur without prior notice and Rain may charge 'fees for Liquidation Events' (amount not published).

Run the numbers: true-cost calculator for this card →

Ready to try Avalanche Card? Start small: minimum load, one test payment, one withdrawal.

Get Avalanche Card or compare all cards →

Avalanche Card FAQ

Is Avalanche Card legit?

Based on our checks as of 2026-10-13: Avalanche Card scores 5/10 in our weighted review. We logged no red flags. User reports and the operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.

The meta-review: what the internet says about Avalanche Card

We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates Avalanche Card - including the issuing structure behind the card. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.

What other reviewers say

Heads-up: most crypto card "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.

No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are affiliate placements.

What users say (4)

Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but patterns across threads are the best early-warning system this industry has.

reddit.com (r/Avax) positive

Does anyone else use the Avalanche card daily/weekly?

I got it ... 'I pay bills with it on days when AVAX pumps' ... 'I got it. I use it for IRL spending and it works fine' (commenter on the daily/weekly use thread; paraphrased from archived comments) - real users report regular use, no theft reports

source dated 2025-11-07 · verified by us 2026-10-04 · HTTP 200 · known site, treat as indicative
reddit.com (r/Avax) neutral

IF AVALANCHE CARD IS GONE, can I get my money back?

'You need to have the private key or backup via iCloud. That's the only way you can access your funds and wallet without any app. This has nothing to do with the Avalanche card in particular, it's just the way wallets work.' (community confirming the non-custodial wallet model; the app onboarding itself says 'you will be asked to create a non-cust[odial wallet]')

source dated 2025-10-29 · verified by us 2026-10-04 · HTTP 200 · known site, treat as indicative
reddit.com (r/Avax) negative

what's wrong with avalanche card? / 7*24 hours 0 support?

'I first emailed them on the 24th, and so far there has been no response.' ... 'no one is there, I am still in line: Dewey AI Agent - 18 hours' (support queue). Another thread (1oh301q-adjacent): refund 'shows complete at october 24, 2025, but it still not arrive' - unverified individual reports, framing: community complaints about support responsiveness and refund delays

source dated 2025-10-27 · verified by us 2026-10-04 · HTTP 200 · known site, treat as indicative
arctic-shift.photon-reddit.com

Reddit r/Avax sentiment (arctic-shift)

Real daily users and no theft reports; support complaints include an AI-agent queue, unanswered emails and refund delays, plus surprise at the 50% hold on AVAX collateral.

source dated n.d. · verified by us 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200 · known site, treat as indicative

Who is behind Avalanche Card?

Card programs stand and fall with their operator and BIN sponsor. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: confirmed (checked 2026-10-04).

OperatorRain Liquidity (Rain) - offered under the Avalanche Card brand of the Avalanche Foundation
Legal entity / issuerRain Liquidity LLC (consumer card services); card issued by Nimbus LLC, doing business as Third National / Third National LLC, under license from Visa. Rain = Signify Holdings, Inc. and affiliates.
Registered inUnited States (2810 N Church St, Wilmington, DE 19802 per Google Play developer listing)

NOT Ava Labs. The homepage states 'Avalanche Card is offered by Rain Liquidity. Rain Liquidity is a financial technology company and not a bank. The Avalanche Card is issued by partners licensed in their respective jurisdictions.' The Rain Privacy Policy defines the group: 'Rain refers to Signify Holdings, Inc. and its affiliates ... including without limitation Nimbus LLC, doing business as Third National and Third National LLC, Rain Liquidity LLC, Rain Payments Services, Inc., and Rain Products, Inc.' and assigns 'Avalanche Card services' to Rain Liquidity LLC and 'Third National services - Visa card issuance, licensed lending, licensed money transmission, payment, settlement' to Nimbus LLC dba Third National. The U.S. Cardholder Agreement says 'The issuer of the credit card program is Third National under license from Visa' and is 'a binding agreement between you and Third National, Inc. including its affiliates ... and service partner Rain Liquidity'. The Rewards Terms note 'Avalanche (BVI), Inc. (Avalanche) is not a party to these Rewards Terms' while sharing only aggregate data with Avalanche. CoinDesk (Feb 2025): the card was 'developed in collaboration with Rain, a blockchain-based card issuing platform' and announced by the Avalanche Foundation. Third National's role: Visa issuer-of-record / BIN sponsor providing licensed issuance, money transmission and GLBA-regulated account services; Rain is the program manager and platform.

Sources & how this review was built

Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact. Quoted text is the verbatim excerpt this review cites.

  1. [1] operator Avalanche Card - homepage FAQ
    “Avalanche Card is offered by Rain Liquidity. Rain Liquidity is a financial technology company and not a bank. FX 1%, monthly account fee $0, virtual card issuance $0, physical card $0, card shipping $0. No credit check required.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  2. [2] operator Avalanche Card - US Card Agreement
    “Supported Blockchains are the Avalanche C-Chain, Ethereum Blockchain, Polygon Blockchain, Optimism Blockchain, Arbitrum Blockchain and other blockchain networks which may be added at our sole discretion. Non-Stable Assets allow spending up to 50% of the Market Value in USD. Annual fee none. APR 0.00%. International transaction fee 2%.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  3. [3] operator Avalanche Card - International Card Agreement
    “Rain Liquidity reserves the right to set a daily or monthly spending limit at our sole discretion, and limits may be reduced to $0. Foreign transaction fees up to 3%. Liquidation Events can occur without prior notice.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  4. [4] operator Avalanche Rewards Terms of Service
    “Avax Points are earned at rates published in the Avalanche Card app. Statement credits are valued at 70% of face value. Avalanche (BVI), Inc. is not a party to these Rewards Terms and has no responsibility or liability to you.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  5. [5] operator Rain Privacy Policy (Third National issuer role)
    “Visa card issuance, licensed lending, licensed money transmission by Nimbus LLC doing business as Third National. Signify and its affiliates are not banks, exchanges, or asset custodians. Rain does not provide FDIC insurance or hold deposits.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  6. [6] news CoinDesk launch coverage
    “The Avalanche Card was developed in collaboration with Rain and introduced by the Avalanche Foundation.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200
  7. [7] community Reddit r/Avax sentiment (arctic-shift)
    “Real daily users and no theft reports; support complaints include an AI-agent queue, unanswered emails and refund delays, plus surprise at the 50% hold on AVAX collateral.”
    accessed 2026-10-03 · HTTP 200

Rate Avalanche Card

Community score: no ratings yet

One rating per user and card. Smoothed display (statistical prior) prevents single-vote manipulation.

User comments (0)

No comments yet - be the first. No account needed; the anti-spam proof runs in your browser.

Similar cards

MetaMask Card

The most mainstream self-custody card: MetaMask wallet spending stablecoins on Linea through a Mastercard program run with Baanx/Monavate, keys stay yours. 1% mUSD cashback on the orderable Virtual card; US and UK sign-ups are paused, Metal (3% tier) paused since June 2026. Verify current availability in-app before ordering.

5.6
Full KYC 1% back self-custody
0% load · 1% FX · 1% back in mUSD
limits unknown Crypto-native 12 d ago

Gnosis Pay

Watch for the December 2026 sunset: the consumer product is closing. Solid self-custody architecture (card only moves whitelisted tokens from your Safe to settlement, up to a daily limit), but as a spending card it has an end date. Migrate to a partner app (Rebind/Picnic) or another self-custody card before 20 December 2026.

5.8
Full KYC physical card self-custody 0% FX
0% load · 0% FX · no cashback
limits unknown Crypto-native 10 d ago

Phantom Cash Card

Phantom Cash finally gives the biggest Solana wallet a spending rail: a free virtual Visa paid out of a CASH stablecoin balance with Apple/Google Pay and yield on idle balances. But it is a US-only (ex-NY), virtual-only product with a USD 2,000 standard daily cap, 1.75% card funding and no card cashback - a nice extension of the wallet, not yet a full card program.

5.1
Full KYC
1.75% load · 1% FX · no cashback
limits unknown Crypto-native 10 d ago