The old Nuri bank is dead (2022 insolvency, customers moved to Vivid) - but the brand relaunched at nuri.com as an Estonian self-custody wallet with a free Visa card, IBAN and 130-country reach. Verify listing: card issuance, fees and the provider stack behind the banking rails are unverified; no community track record exists yet.
by the cryptodebitcards editorial desk · review version 3 · prose updated 2026-09-21 · facts as of 2026-09-21 · how we verify
Overview
Nuri homepage - live capture 2026-09-19
The Nuri card is a virtual debit card offered by Nurisoft Development OÜ, a crypto-native provider, on the Visa network. It is designed for users who want to spend their cryptocurrencies, including BTC, EURC, USDC, and USDT, without the need for traditional banking. The card is part of a self-custody wallet and banking services package.
Fees & Costs
The Nuri card has a $0 monthly fee, and no top-up fee is mentioned. However, a foreign-exchange margin is applied to non-USD transactions, although the percentage is not disclosed. There is also a $25 chargeback administration fee if the dispute is lost. Other fees, such as ATM fees, are not specified.
KYC & Onboarding
The Nuri card requires basic KYC, but many features work without ID verification. The card and banking services are provider-operated, with separate terms and eligibility. The onboarding process is not fully detailed, but users can open a free account and get a virtual Visa card linked to their self-custodial wallet.
Coins & Top-up
The Nuri card supports direct loading of BTC, EURC, USDC, and USDT. There is no classic top-up flow, as the card draws on the self-custodial passkey wallet. The minimum top-up amount is not specified. The card spending converts at the provider layer, with a foreign-exchange margin applied to non-USD transactions.
Rewards
There is no cashback or rewards program mentioned for the Nuri card. The provider's website and FAQ do not mention any rewards or cashback rates, and the card's terms do not include any information on rewards.
Reliability & Red Flags
The Nuri brand has a complex history, with the old Nuri GmbH filing for insolvency in 2022 and the brand being relaunched under Nurisoft Development OÜ. The new operator has a live site, iOS and Android apps, and a July 2026 investor briefing document. However, there is no independent track record yet, and the product is considered early-stage. The provider's reputation is unproven, and users should be cautious when using the card.
Verdict
The Nuri card is a relatively new offering from Nurisoft Development OÜ, and its features and fees are not fully verified. While it offers a self-custody wallet and banking services, users should be aware of the potential risks and uncertainties associated with a new and unproven provider. As with any financial product, it is essential to carefully review the terms and conditions before using the card.
What works
Self-custody passkey wallet - keys stay with the user
Free Visa card (virtual Apple/Google Pay or physical) plus IBAN, SEPA, ACH
Advertised in 130 countries; some features without ID verification
What to watch
Relaunch has no track record; zero community footprint as of Sep 2026
Card/banking rails are third-party-provider-operated ('not a bank')
No public fee schedule for the card
Old Nuri GmbH history (2022 insolvency) belongs to a different legal entity
Fee reality check
Monthly
none
Fine print
The Nuri card still EXISTS (brand relaunch, new legal entity): it is issued on Wirex BaaS per the official card-support FAQ. Advertised as a 'free VISA card' with a 'free account'. Published fees: only a $25 chargeback administration fee if the dispute is lost. No top-up/FX/ATM/monthly fee schedule is published - FX margin is applied on non-USD spend (multi-hop local->GBP->USD), percentage undisclosed. Card spending limits (GBP-denominated): 30,000 per transaction/day/month; ATM 500/day, 5,000/month, 5 withdrawals/day.
Based on our checks as of 2026-09-21: Nuri scores 3.3/10 in our weighted review. We logged no red flags. User reports and the operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.
Is KYC required?
Basic KYC is required, but many features work without ID verification.
What fees does it charge?
The card has a $0 monthly fee, a $25 chargeback administration fee, and an undisclosed foreign-exchange margin.
Which coins can you load?
The card supports direct loading of BTC, EURC, USDC, and USDT.
Does it pay cashback?
No, there is no cashback or rewards program mentioned.
Which regions does it serve?
The card is available globally, with no excluded countries specified.
Is it safe/legit?
The provider's reputation is unproven, and users should be cautious when using the card.
Is the card physical or virtual?
The card is available in both virtual and physical forms, with the virtual card compatible with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
The meta-review: what the internet says about Nuri
We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit and forums, and who actually operates Nuri - including the issuing structure behind the card. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.
What other reviewers say
Heads-up: most crypto card "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.
No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are affiliate placements.
What users say
Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but patterns across threads are the best early-warning system this industry has.
No user threads found yet. If you have first-hand experience, post it in the comments below - it feeds this section after review.
Who is behind Nuri?
Card programs stand and fall with their operator and BIN sponsor. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: high (checked 2026-09-19).
Operator
Nuri
Legal entity / issuer
Nurisoft Development OÜ, Veskiposti tn 2-1002, 10138 Tallinn, Estonia ('Nuri' registered trademark of Nurisoft Development OÜ); founder Emin Mahrt (ex-CPO Boerse Stuttgart Digital Exchange). Distinct from the insolvent Nuri GmbH (Berlin, ex-Bitwala).
Registered in
Estonia
Self-custody wallet software; card and banking services provider-operated (separate terms/eligibility). July 2026 investor briefing shows active fundraising.
Generated by Llama on 2026-09-21 from our fact database plus the 10 linked sources above. It summarizes - it does not add facts. Check anything that matters against the linked sources.
Bottom line: The Nuri card program is active and has relaunched under a new entity, Nurisoft Development OÜ, after the old Nuri bank became insolvent in 2022. This new program offers a self-custody wallet with a free Visa card, but its track record and fees are largely unverified. The card is available globally, with spending limits and no published fee schedule.
The fee reality: The Nuri card has no published fee schedule, but it does mention a $25 chargeback administration fee if the dispute is lost. A foreign-exchange margin is applied to non-USD transactions, but the percentage is not disclosed. There are spending limits, including a daily and monthly limit of GBP 30,000 and ATM limits of GBP 500/day and GBP 5,000/month.
KYC and coins: The Nuri card requires basic KYC and supports self-custody of BTC, EURC, USDC, and USDT. Many features work without ID verification, but card and banking services are provider-operated with separate terms and eligibility.
What reviewers say vs what users say: There is no significant user or reviewer feedback available, as the relaunched program has a minimal online presence and no community track record. The operator's website and official FAQ provide most of the available information, with no cashback or rewards program mentioned.
Who issues it: The Nuri card is issued by Wirex BaaS, with Nurisoft Development OÜ operating the self-custody wallet software and provider-operated card and banking services. The company is based in Estonia and has a registered trademark for the Nuri brand.
Sources & how this review was built
Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.
A self-custody stablecoin banking app whose Visa card (issued by Wirex) is live and documented: 1-8% cashback tiers, free virtual card, Apple Pay/Google Pay, EUR 30k/month limits, up to 5% APY. The rewards are real but tier-gated by $COCA staking and monthly claim caps; the '0% FX' marketing does not survive independent measurement (1.18% spread), and the no-CRS/DAC8 claim deserves skepticism.
Full KYC8% backphysical cardself-custody
0% load · 0% FX · 8% back
EUR 30,000 (plus EUR 75,000/quarter and EUR 100,000/6-month caps)Crypto-native 3 d ago
The most mainstream self-custody card: MetaMask wallet spending stablecoins on Linea through a Monavate-issued Mastercard, keys stay yours. Application throughput and the stablecoin-only rail are the practical limits.
The reference architecture for self-custody spending: your own Safe smart account settles stablecoins to a Monavate-issued Visa - no custodial balance. The 2026 B2B pivot means consumers now reach it through partner apps, and rewards are minimal.
No comments yet - be the first. No account needed; the anti-spam proof runs in your browser.